A ban on the sale of single use vapes is being called for by Scottish Local Authorities amid growing health and environmental concerns.

18 Councils are actively calling on the Scottish Government to ban disposable e-cigs: Aberdeen, East Dunbartonshire, Falkirk, Fife, North Ayrshire, Dundee, West Dunbartonshire, Glasgow, Argyll and Bute, Renfrewshire, East Lothian, Moray, Edinburgh, Stirling, North Lanarkshire, Shetland and Highland.

Inverclyde Council and East Renfrewshire Council have both opted not to support the ban.

The Scottish Government is currently conducting a review of single-use vapes which includes consideration of a ban. The review will be led by Zero Waste Scotland.